Parts of this weekend were incandescent. In the midst of some dull, difficult, sad days, there were the times he smiled and the room exploded into light.

mcginley_back_against_wall_2004.jpg

Sometimes he smiled at me. Sometimes he smiled at his family. Sometimes he smiled just because. I had forgotten how much sunshine he can bring into my life with just his smile.

More and more, he is my friend in every way I can name. The person I laugh with, the person I tell my secrets to, the person I go to bed with, the person I tell about the other people I want to go to bed with, the one I argue with and dream with–and it’s all there.

I don’t know what he gets out of it. I just know I get to see him, smiling, lit up, and those moments are worth it.

And yes, this is a sappy post. We are in love, and sometimes, it’s nice to just bask in it–it’s been a long cold lonely winter.

This and other terrific work by Ryan McGinley